SPB Git

spb/wp29_uqo

Public

# F4-conf-01 — Extraction of treatment effects and uncertainty from two published tables

# Question

Extract, exactly as printed, specified point estimates, standard errors (SEs), 95% confidence-interval (CI) bounds and sample counts from (a) Armendariz (2026), arXiv:2609.27732v1 (DCR openings in Switzerland, staggered DiD, Tables 6–7) and (b) Li, Pearson-Merkowitz & Yokum (2026), arXiv:2606.14621v1 (Rhode Island RESEA RCT, Table 2). Attach a locator to each value, derive one CI from an SE and one SE from a CI, and identify the requested quantity that is not reported.

# Data and exclusions

Only the two extracts in data/sources/ were used, plus data/README.md for provenance (line counts: README 10, arxiv-2609.27732v1.txt 134, arxiv-2606.14621v1.txt 58). Nothing was excluded. Where a value appears in more than one table (DCR 5 km ATT in Table 6 and Appendix Table A19; RESEA ATEs in Tables 2 and 3), the table named in the key definition (Table 6, Table 2) was used.

# Method

out/analysis.py parses the pipe-delimited tables. For regression tables it reads the line below each coefficient row as the SE line, then removes stars, $ and thousands separators. It prints every matched source line so that each value can be checked by eye. It also runs consistency checks: stars against a normal approximation of coef/SE, the p-value implied by the derived SE, and observation counts against region counts. Derived quantities use the normal critical value 1.96.

# Results

key value locator (abridged)
dcr_att_5km / se -0.431** / 0.210 2609.27732v1, Table 6, "ATT", "5 km"
dcr_att_3km / se -0.283 / 0.279 Table 6, "ATT", "3 km"
dcr_obs_5km 17250 (printed "17,250") Table 6, "Observations", "5 km"
dcr_narcotics_att_3km / se 0.549*** / 0.187 Table 7, "Narcotics", "3 km"
dcr_fatal_att_1km / se -1.207*** / 0.137 Table 7, "Drug-related (fatal)", "1 km"
dcr_hiv_att_5km / se -0.340 / 0.294 (no star) Table 7, "HIV", "5 km"
dcr_hiv_att_5km_p_value null — not reported only stars are printed, no exact p-values
dcr_hiv_att_5km_significant_10pct false no star on the cell
dcr_att_5km CI (derived) [-0.8426, -0.0194] Table 6 inputs, derived
ri_wage_ate [95% CI] 1153 [166, 2141] USD/yr 2606.14621v1, Table 2, "Wage", "Average treatment effect estimate"
ri_wage_ate_se_reported false Table 2 prints p and CI, not an SE
ri_wage_ate_se_derived 503.83 USD/yr Table 2 CI, derived
ri_control_mean_wage 33043 USD/yr Table 2, "Wage", "Control"
ri_reemployment_ate_pp 1.47 pp Table 2, "Reemployment", ATE
ri_weeks_ui_ate [95% CI] -1.99 [-2.24, -1.75] weeks Table 2, "Weeks on UI", ATE

Note: JSON cannot store trailing zeros. In results.json, 0.210 is stored as 0.21 and -0.340 as -0.34. The printed strings are 0.210 and -0.340, and the numeric values are the same.

The full locator strings are in results.json["locators"].

# Uncertainty

  • DCR study (arXiv:2609.27732v1): every uncertainty measure is a standard error clustered at the MedStat region level, printed in parentheses below each coefficient, with significance stars. The source prints no CIs or exact p-values for the table cells, so the HIV 5 km p-value is reported as null. The derived 95% CI for the Table 6 5 km ATT is −0.431 ± 1.96 × 0.210 = [−0.8426, −0.0194] log points. It assumes the estimator is asymptotically normal and that the printed (rounded) SE is the right SE. With critical value 2.0 it would be [−0.851, −0.011].
  • RESEA study (arXiv:2606.14621v1): the uncertainties in Table 2 are 95% confidence intervals plus two-sided p-values; no SEs are printed. The derived SE for the wage ATE is (2141 − 166)/(2 × 1.96) = 503.83 USD/yr. This assumes the CI is a symmetric normal-based interval. With N = 23,549, a t critical value would make no practical difference. As a check, 1153/503.83 gives z = 2.29 and a two-sided p of 0.022, which matches the printed p = 0.022. The construction of the CI is described only in the paper's main text, which is not in the extract.
  • All printed stars in DCR Tables 6, 7 and A19 match a normal approximation of coef/SE.

# Limitations and open issues

  • There is an internal inconsistency in the DCR source. The 5 km CS-DR ATT (−0.431**) has SE 0.210 in Table 6 but SE 0.218 in Appendix Table A19. The Table 6 value is used, as the key specifies. With 0.218, the derived CI would be [−0.8583, −0.0037].
  • The control-region counts in the DCR source disagree. Tables 6, 7 and A19 state 608 never-treated control regions, but the A19 note says 640. The printed observation counts are 16,175, 16,875 and 17,250. Each equals 25 × (640 + treated regions), which fits 640 controls rather than 608. This check assumes a 25-year panel (1998–2022), which is my inference. The value 17250 is reported as printed, without correction.
  • Some DCR text does not match the tables. The abstract says fatal hospitalisations fall "by 35%". The Table 7 5 km fatal ATT of −0.354 log points corresponds to about −29.8%, and Section 6.1 itself says about 30%. The text also calls the HIV estimates "close to zero", while the 5 km cell is −0.340 (not significant). None of this affects the extracted keys.
  • Two minor points in the RESEA source:
    • The results paragraph prints the Weeks-on-UI CI as magnitudes, [1.75, 2.24]. Table 2 prints the signed interval [−2.24, −1.75], which is the one used.
    • The wage CI is very slightly asymmetric about the estimate (987 below, 988 above), which is consistent with rounding.
  • Overall the task is complete. The one quantity that is not available (the HIV 5 km exact p-value) is reported as null because the source does not print it, as the task anticipates.
Files · main
Menu

Theme